h1

Stupid Universe

July 29, 2008

I was a little upset yesterday, so I painted the fireplace.

Yesterday morning, after endless hours of searching job sites and submitting resumes and sending clever cover letters, I was offered a really fantastic freelance writing job. A job that would have been challenging and exciting and a great career move. And it paid well. I was psyched!

And then, just a short time later, I was un-offered the job. There was some sort of miscommunication within the company and they realized that my particular talents were not what they needed for this particular job. I’m glad I didn’t order that Calvin Klein handbag I’ve been eyeing lately, as my reward for landing a job. That I didn’t actually land. My contact at the company was really nice about it and assured me she would use me for other projects I was a better fit for, and I know it wasn’t anyone’s fault. Except the Universe. Stupid Universe.

I’m not very happy with the Universe right now. It keeps promising me that it has a plan, and that everything happens for a reason, and then it goes and pulls some stunt like this and is all “Ha-ha SUCKER!” Oh Universe. I wish I could quit you.

I put on a happy face, which is really really hard for me because I’m basically a cynical suspicious New Yorker who believes that the world is a swirling vortex of nothingness and there is no purpose and we’re all just limping toward oblivion. And that’s AFTER I’ve had coffee. I told myself “no big deal.” Tomorrow is another day. You only live once. Don’t sweat the small stuff. Comfort was cut TWICE from SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE, and she took it like a champ. I had to find my inner champ.

So I put on my work clothes and painted the fireplace. Because when the going gets tough, the tough go decorate.

It’s nice to have a fireplace in Los Angeles on all those winter days when the temperature plummets to a bone-chilling 65 degrees. Although the fireplace is not original to my 1925 Spanish style house, I like it. I don’t love the wimpy little mantel, which looks too insubstantial for the size of the fireplace, but at some point I can probably do something about that – add some molding or perhaps a completely different mantel. The tiles on the hearth are miles from Batchelder – they’re large marble tiles from Home Depot that some previous owner slapped on in the 80’s – but if you squint and stand back far enough – hey! Marble! Classy!

Picture of old colors (because still no camera):
Fireplace

When I painted the walls a few weeks ago, I left the fireplace the old color, which was a 50% reduction of the wall color I never liked. And you know what they say – 50% of something you don’t like is still something you don’t like. But yesterday, feeling a bit down about the job situation, I threw on my work clothes, grabbed the paint, and changed the color. The fireplace is now that nice Milfweed color – a soft yellow-leaning ivory.

So, still no job. But a nice freshly painted fireplace. I’d be tempted to sit by a roaring fire with a cup of hot chocolate, except that it’s the middle of summer in Los Angeles. Back to the job hunt.

Universe – you and I are not done here!

2 comments

  1. Ah, fireplaces…just blogged about mine a couple of days ago.

    I have a Spanish Style home, too..well, not really…it’s in Michigan…and they only did the porch and foyer in the Spanish style….then they stopped and from there it is just like any other home built in the 70’s. Plus we live in a rural-surburban area, so one day I called it a Spanish-Country house (playing off the French Country decor name)…and now my dh will not stop calling it that…it’s kind of funny, at least to me 😉

    I hope you find a job very soon, dumb universe!

    Nice to meet you:)

    Bella


  2. That’s terrible! I can’t believe they un-offered you a job like that. Ugh. What a disappointment.

    I just looked up at your blog header and realized, I think I thanked “Random Acts of Decorating” instead of “Random Acts of Home Decor” in my thank-you post today. Sorry about that! I’ll edit it asap. -Julia



Leave a Reply

